Home » English Premier League » Henderson named Footballer of the Year 2019/20 season

Henderson named Footballer of the Year 2019/20 season

by comsmedia

Liverpool captain, Jordan Henderson has been named Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for the 2019/20 season after leading the Reds to their first premier league title in 30years.

The former Sunderland midfielder beat Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford, as well as team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane for the top prize.

Speaking after winning the award, Henderson said: “I’d like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers’ Association in general.

“You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I’ve been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

“But as grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own. I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

“I owe a lot to so many different people – but none more so than my current team-mates – who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

“We’ve only achieved what we’ve achieved because every single member of our squad has been brilliant. And not just in matches. Not just in producing the moments that make the headlines and the back pages but every day in training.”

Henderson missed the last premier league match at Anfield but Liverpool had enough in the tank to beat Chelsea 5-3 before the trophy was presented at the end of the encounter.

related posts

Leave a Comment

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?
Update Required Flash plugin